Day 71 – Chest and Back (Last Time)

Well today was the last time that I will do Chest and Back for this round of P90X.   Kind of a sad day when you realize you won’t see Tony and friends anymore… NOT!! 

Here is where I finished up on some of the excercises.  I use the bands so Pull-ups are always 25 reps with all 3 bands, stretched as far as I can get them.

  • 60 Standard Push-Ups  (30 each set)
  • 50 Wide Front Pull-Ups (Bands)
  • 60 Military Push-Ups  (30 each set)
  • 50 Reverse Grip Chin-Ups (Bands)
  • 60 Wide Fly Push-Ups (30 each set)
  • 50 Closed Grip Overhand Pull-ups (Bands)
  • 35 Decline Push-Ups (20 first set, 15 second set)
  • 30 Heavy Pants (15 each set using two 30-pound dumbbells)
  • 30 Diamond Push-Ups (15 each set)
  • 30 Lawnmowers (15 each set using 30-pound dumbells)
  • 22 Dive Bomber Push-Ups (12 first set, 10 second set)
  • 30 Back Flys (15 per set, using 25-pound dumbbells)
  • That compares to these numbers the first week.

  • 20 Standard Push-Ups  (14 first set, 6 second set)
  • 20 Wide Front Pull-Ups (Bands)
  • 20 Military Push-Ups  (15 first set, 5 second set)
  • 20 Reverse Grip Chin-Ups (Bands)
  • 18 Wide Fly Push-Ups (12 first set, 6 second set)
  • 20 Closed Grip Overhand Pull-ups (Bands)
  • 15 Decline Push-Ups (10 first set, 5 second set)
  • 30 Heavy Pants (15 each set using two 15-pound dumbbells)
  • 10 Diamond Push-Ups (7 first set, 3 second set)
  • 30 Lawnmowers (15 each set using 15-pound dumbells)
  • 6  Dive Bomber Push-Ups (4 first set, 2 second set)
  • 30 Back Flys (15 per set, using 10-pound dumbbells)
  • A pretty steady improvement.  I can do way more pushups than 30 on the first sets, but then I am too tired to get anything out of the second round, so I do as Tony suggests…. Pace yourself.   Due to the way that my house is laid out, I do not have anyplace for a real chin-up bar.  So I use the bands.    I did jump up on a chin-up bar at a friends place the other day and was able to crank out 15 chin-ups,  after that I did 6 of the corncob chin-ups as well.  The real chin-ups are much harder than the bands, but I have to stick with what I have.   There seems to be much more rest time using the chin-up bar as you cannot go til the time runs out, with the bands, I basically do them until the time runs out and then run to the next excercise.  No recovery time. 

    If I do the P90X again (or some hybrid that contains it) I will probably install a chin-up bar in the garage, but that only works for spring/summer/fall months.  It is too cold and nasty out there for winter workouts.  

    19 days to go….

    Leave a Reply

