Insanity – Final Review

Hello everyone, it has been a little more than a week since I finished up with my final workout and fit test from Insanity.  It has taken about a week for all of the little aches and pains to go away, especially in my knees and big toes. 

I have now completed both P90X and Insanity and I feel that both are excellent workouts and each can achieve the desired results if followed as designed.  I first started P90X way back on November 27th of 2009.  (The day after thanksgiving)  My original weigh-in weight was 192 Lbs and the body fat calcuation was 25.6%   I am now at 165 Lbs and 11% body fat.  A big difference that I can actually say is due to using both P90X and Insanity over the past 6 months.

I think the most important rule of using either P90X or Insanity is ……… DIET.   Both workouts are great in their own way, but without a proper diet to go along with them, you WILL NOT see the results.   I have several friends that I work with as well as family members who have been doing either Insanity or P90X nearly as long as I have and have not seen as good of results.   Yes they are stronger or have better cardio now compared to when they started, but they did not lose much weight and did not get the ripped or sculpted look they thought they would get.

As for each of the workouts, I have to say that I feel that the first 30 days of Insanity was the best of any of the workouts.  I think this is due to the fact that they only last 45 minutes and just get you absolutely drenched in sweat.  That being said, I think the second 30 days of Insanity was the most tedious.   Extending the workout to an hour, without really adding anything new, simply made it to hard on the body after a few weeks.

As for P90X, I really like the weight lifting days as well as the Plyometric day.  The Yoga is simply WAY to long of a workout (90 minutes)  I would suggest skipping the balance portion (the last 40 minutes or so).   And the Kenpo, while fun the first couple of times, is just too easy of a workout compared to the others.

Would I recommend one over the other?  Not really.  I think it depends on what the individual person is looking for or likes to do.  Some people really like the cardio, so Insanity is great for them, while others like the weightlifting and muscle work, so I would recommend P90X to them.  The only complaint I have on either workout is that Tony Horton is a complete douchebag.

Now that I am finished with both, I am just going to maintain where I have gotten to.  I am thinking of working out 5 days a week and taking weekends off.  Following a good diet Monday thru Friday, and maybe not so strict on weekends.   The plan is to do P90X weight workouts Mon, Wen, Fri and Insanity on Tue and Thur.   Then to flip that the next week with 3 Insanity’s (MWF) and 2 P90X (Tue,Thur).

Look for my new blog coming soon…. 6-Pack Abs…. Covered in Suntan Lotion.

Leave a Reply

