Day 56 – Chest and Back Vegas Style

Well I woke up nice and early (7:00am Vegas Time, not bad seeing that I got to bed around 3:30am)  of course it was early in Vegas, but back home it was 10:00am already.   I got into my shorts and t-shirt and headed down to the fitness center.  Needless to say, not many people come to Vegas to get in shape, and the place was pretty empty.  Maybe 6 or 7 people total.  

I had converted my P90X disks into iPod playable movies and so I simply strapped on the Nano and pressed play.  I am sure I looked like a complete idiot doing my Tony warm up and stretches in the tiny section of the room that had an open floor.  Everyone else simply came in the door and started with the weights or treadmills right away, no warm up.   But I continued on like  the good P90X soldier that I am.   Then it was on to push ups, again I was the only person doing any of those, then pull-ups, again the only person using that stuff. 

I do not have a pull-up bar at home and use the bands (3 actually) and I have to say that the actual pull-ups are much harder, but I think you really suffer with the form.   I did 12 on the first set.  I had not tried any since the fit test and I think I managed 5 then.   So that was a big improvement.    They did not have a regular straight chin-up bar at this place, but some stand with a bunch of funky hand positions that sucked.  I think I could do more with just a standard old bar. 

Anyways, I plowed through the entire workout and then on to the ab-ripper.  The one thing I noticed was that plenty of people had already come to workout and left while I was still sweating away in my little corner of the gym.   I think this workout may take an hour and 15 minutes total.  It amazed me how many people came down and did stuff for maybe 25 minutes and called it done.   (of course they had no warm up or cool down, and hardly anyone got down on the floor for ab work)  I think the structure of following the DVD’s makes these workouts a ton more effective, as most people just seemed to go through the motions and not really try to push themselves at all.

Once the workout was done, I headed back to the room, showered and went to breakfast.  After that I headed to the tables for an hour or so before everyone else was finally ready for the day.  Getting up early to get the workout in felt great, but I had this feeling it was gonna cost me dearly that night at 3:00am when everyone else is going strong. 

The weather in Vegas was sunny and mid-fifties, so to us it was like spring.  Spent some time walking around outside in the afternoon and had a nice dinner that evening.  Went to a show and then…. off to the tables.   (We generally don’t even start gambleing until a little before midnight)     Had another OK night, made some money, but just could not get on that hot streak needed to really make some serious money.   I could not complain though, as I was up again for the day.

Leave a comment